As a result of the #MeToo and #TimesUp movements – which shone a particularly bright spotlight on the entertainment industry – some states and localities responded with sexual harassment training requirements.
- California law currently mandates that California-based supervisory employees employed by large employers (those with 50+ employees in and outside of California) are required to complete 2 hours of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training within 6 months of hire or within 6 months of being promoted into a managerial position, and to be trained every 2 years thereafter.
- California SB 1343 and SB 778 require that non-supervisory employees employed by large employers, as well as all employees employed by small employers (employers with five or more employees in California), will also need to complete sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training by the end of 2020 and retrained once every two years thereafter.
Additional details can be found in our Required California Sexual Harassment Training Latest Updates blog.
- Employers will be required to provide to a new employee a copy of information regarding the illegality of sexual harassment and remedies available to victims.
- Employers must provide all existing employees with two hours of training by October 1, 2020.
- Effective October 1, 2019, employers must provide two hours of training and education to new employees within six months of their start date.
- Employers with fewer than three employees must provide two hours of training and education to all existing supervisory employees by October 1, 2020 or within six months to new supervisory employees.
- Employers must provide periodic supplemental training not less than every ten years.
More information, including FAQs, posters, and training, can be found on the ct.gov website.
- Employers with 50 or more employees in Delaware must train new employees within a year of their start date and every two years after that.
- Effective January 1, 2019, each employer must distribute the Department of Labor’s Sexual Harassment Notice to each new employee upon commencement of employment.
For additional details, including downloadable Delaware Sexual Harassment Notices, visit the Delaware Department of Labor’s website.
- Employers with 15 or more employees are required to conduct an education and training program using the Maine Department of Labor Training Checklist for all new employees within one year of commencement of employment.
- Employers are also required to conduct additional training for supervisory and managerial employees within one year of commencement of employment that includes, at a minimum, the specific responsibilities of supervisory and managerial employees and methods that these employees must take to ensure immediate and appropriate corrective action in addressing sexual harassment complaints.
Learn more about Maine’s sexual harassment education and training resources here.
- All employers, regardless of size, with one or more employees (no minimum-hour requirement) performing work in the state must provide training that meets the state’s published standards.
- New York City also requires employers to conduct training annually.
Additional details can be found in our New York Sexual Harassment Prevention Legislation Requirements blog.
Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Resources
For employers nationwide, the following resources can provide guidance on how to draft and implement sexual harassment prevention communication and training within your organization.
Clear Law Institute
4601 N. Fairfax Drive, Suite 1200
Contact: Justin Sikora: 865-824-1255, email@example.com
NAVEX Global: The Ethics and Compliance Experts
6000 Meadows Road, Suite 200
Lake Oswego, OR 97035
Contact: Brett Arnold: (503) 601-4954, firstname.lastname@example.org
Interactive Business Inclusion Solutions
205 Newbury Street, Suite 201
Framingham, MA 01701
Contact: (508) 283-1423, email@example.com
Kantola Productions, LLC
55 Sunnyside Ave
Mill Valley, CA 94941
Contact: (800) 280-1180, firstname.lastname@example.org
500 Lake Cook Road, Suite 350
Deerfield, IL 60015
Contact: (415) 951-7913, www.syntrio.com/about-us/contact-us
Have Questions or Want to Learn More?
If you have any questions about sexual harassment prevention training requirements, please contact us.
This information in this communication is general in nature, and is not intended, nor should it be construed, as legal, accounting, tax or other professional advice rendered by GreenSlate, LLC. The reader should contact his or her attorney, CPA, or tax professional prior to taking any action based upon this information.