GreenSlate Sponsors the Critics Choice Association's 5th Annual Celebration of Black Cinema and Television

GreenSlate was proud to sponsor the 5th Annual Critics Choice Association Celebration of Black Cinema and Television at the Fairmont Century Plaza in Los Angeles on December 5.

The Celebration was the third and final Critics Choice event dedicated to honoring diversity and excellence in film and television in 2022.  Now in its fifth year, the Celebration recognized 15 categories as part of a star-studded night featuring standout achievements in Black filmmaking and television.

The evening showcased extraordinary performances and work both onscreen and offscreen, including talented artists like Angela Bassett, Nicco Annan, Quinta Brunson, Michael B. Jordan, Danielle Deadwyler, Berry Gordy, Elegance Bratton, Jonathan Majors, and so many more. 

These are just a few of the producers, directors, writers, actors, and activists who were honored.



Songwriter, producer, director, entrepreneur, and founder of Motown Berry Gordy received the Icon Award for his unparalleled contribution to music, film, and popular culture.

Berry Gordy


Angela Bassett received the Career Achievement Award for her extraordinary career and her recent role as Queen Ramonda in the Marvel Studios film, Black Panther: Wakanda Forever.

Angela Bassett


Actor, producer and director Michael B. Jordan received the Melvin Van Peebles Trailblazer Award for his overall contribution to the industry and in celebration of his directorial debut with the United Artists Releasing film, Creed III.

MIchael B Jordan CCA


Grammy Award winning musician, multi-platinum recording artist and actor Scott ‘Kid Cudi’ Mescudi was honored with the Groundbreaker Award for his starring role as Jabari in the Netflix television event, Entergalactic, which he also created.

Scott Kid Cudi Mescudi


Actor Nicco Annan received the Actor Award for Television for his role as Uncle Clifford on the STARZ hit series, P-Valley.

Nicco Annan


Writer and director Elegance Bratton accepted the Social Justice Award for his inspiring work on the A24 film, The Inspection.

Elegance Bratton


Emmy award-winning writer, producer, and actress, Quinta Brunson was presented with the Actress Award for Television for her role as Janine Teagues on ABC’s hit series, Abbott Elementary, which she created and also executive produces.

Quinta Brunson


Actress and comedian Ayo Edebiri received the Rising Star Award for her role as Sydney Adamu on the FX series, The Bear.

Ayo Edebiri


Actor Brian Tyree Henry was awarded with the Supporting Actor Award for his performance as James Aucoin in Apple Original Films and A24’s, Causeway.

Brian Tyree Henry


Actor Quincy Isaiah accepted the Rising Star Award for his role as Magic Johnson on the HBO Original series, Winning Time: The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty, available to stream on HBO Max.

Quincy Isaiah


Emmy and Critics Choice Award nominated Jonathan Majors was presented with the Actor Award for Film for his role as Jesse Brown in Columbia Pictures and Black Label Media aerial war epic, Devotion.

Jonathan Majors CCA


The Director Award for Film was awarded to director Gina Prince-Bythewood for her work on TriStar Pictures and Entertainment One’s critically-acclaimed, The Woman King.

Gina Prince-Bythewood


Writer/Director Nikyatu Jusu accepted the Breakthrough Film Award for the Amazon Studios and Blumhouse film, Nanny.

Nikyatu Jusu


The Ensemble Award was presented to the cast of ABC’s sitcom, The Wonder YearsElisha “EJ” Williams, Dulé Hill, Saycon Sengbloh, Laura Kariuki, Julian Lerner, Milan Ray, and Amari O’Neil.

Julian Lerner, Milan Ray, and Amari ONeil



You can check out all of this year’s honorees here.

*Photo Credits: Getty for GreenSlate LLC, Getty for the Critics Choice Association


06 December 2022

Client Projects
2023 Awards Season