Latestupdates

Minimum Wage Increases for 2021

A number of states have announced minimum wage increases for 2021. More changes could be announced, so employers should continue to monitor the rates for further changes.

The following chart details the states that have announced minimum wage increases. 

 State Minimum Wage Rates

State

2020 Minimum Wage
Per Hour
 

Next Scheduled Increase Minimum Wage Per Hour

Website

Alaska $10.19  $10.34 (1/1/21) Learn more
Arizona $12.00  $12.15 (1/1/21) Learn more
Arkansas $10.00  $11.00 (1/1/21) Learn more
California $13.00 / $12.00  $14.00 / $13.00 (1/1/21) Learn more
CA note: Employers with 25 or fewer employees may pay at the lower rate in effect (i.e. $13.00 for 2021). Several cities/counties have higher minimum wages.
Colorado $12.00  $12.32/$14.77 (1/1/21) Learn more
CO note: higher minimum wage applies to Denver
Connecticut $12.00  $13.00 (8/1/21) Learn more
Florida $8.56  $8.65 (1/1/21) Learn more
Illinois $9.25  $11.00 (1/1/21) Learn more
IL note: higher minimum wage applies to Chicago and Cook County (not shown)
Maine $12.00  $12.15 (1/1/21) Learn more
Maryland $11.00  $11.75 for employers
with 15 or more
employees (1/1/21)
Learn more
MD note: different minimum wage applies to Montgomery County and Prince George's County (not shown)
Massachusetts $12.75  $13.50 (1/1/21) Learn more
Minnesota $10.00 / $8.15  $10.08 / $8.21 (1/1/21) Learn more
MN note: higher minimum wage applies to employers with annual gross revenue of $500,000 or more
Missouri $9.45  $10.30 (1/1/21) Learn more
Montana $8.65  $8.75 (1/1/21) Learn more
Nevada $9.00 / $8.00  $9.75 / $8.75 (7/1/21) Learn more
NV note: higher minimum wage applies when no health benefits are offered
New Jersey $11.00 / $10.30 $12.00 / $11.10 (1/1/21) Learn more
NJ note: higher minimum wage applies when employer has 6 or more employees; lower wage applies with 5 or fewer employees and seasonal ER
New Mexico $9.00  $10.50 (1/1/21) Learn more
New York $13.00 / $11.80  $12.50 / $14.00 / $15.00 (1/1/21) Learn more
NY note: $14 minimum wage applies to Long Island and Westchester; $15 minimum wage applies to NYC
Ohio $8.70  $8.80 (1/1/21) Learn more
Oregon $13.25 / $12.00 / $11.50  $12.75 /  $14.00 / $12.00 (7/1/21) Learn more
OR note: lowest minimum wage applies to non-urban counties; highest minimum wage applies to Portland 
South Dakota $9.30  $9.45 (1/1/21) Learn more
Vermont $10.96  $11.75 Learn more
Virginia $7.25 $9.50 (5/1/21) Learn more
Washington $13.50 $13.69 (1/1/21) Learn more
WA note: Seattle and the City of SeaTac currently have higher minimum wage rates

 
 For current state minimum wage rates, visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s site. 

*Michigan’s Improved Workforce Opportunity Wage Act of 2018 prohibits scheduled minimum wage increases when the state’s annual unemployment rate for the preceding calendar year is above 8.5%. On December 11, 2020, The Michigan Bureau of Employment Relations, Wage and Hour Division announced that the state’s scheduled minimum wage increase is not expected to go into effect on Jan. 1, 2021. If the new rate does not go into effect, Michigan’s minimum wage rate will next increase to $9.87 in the first calendar year following a calendar year for which the annual unemployment rate is less than 8.5%. Please see the full notice here.


This information in this communication is general in nature, and is not intended, nor should it be construed, as legal, accounting, tax or other professional advice rendered by GreenSlate, LLC. The reader should contact his or her attorney, CPA, or tax professional prior to taking any action based upon this information.

GreenSlate
29 December 2020

News
Budgets
2021 Updates

Share your thoughts