Hiring entities with 500 or more employees nationwide, and a public or private entity that employs health care providers or emergency responders who excluded such employees from emergency paid sick leave under the federal Families First Coronavirus Response Act are required to provide supplemental paid sick leave to employees for specified reasons related to COVID-19.
Who does California COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave apply to?
- Hiring entities with 500 or more employees nationwide.
- Workers in CA that must leave home to perform work.
When is COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave required to be provided?
9/19/2020 to 12/31/2020, or expiration of any federal extension of the FFCRA, whichever is later.
What are the qualifying reasons for an employee to take COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave?
An employee may take leave if the employee is unable to work for any of the following reasons:
- They are subject to a Federal, State, or local quarantine or isolation order related to COVID-19.
- They are advised by a health care provider to self-quarantine or self-isolate due to concerns related to COVID-19.
- They are prohibited from working by the hiring entity due to health concerns related to the potential transmission of COVID-19.
Note: These criteria can be related to the worker’s symptoms, exposure or diagnosis, or those of someone else, so long as the criteria is met.
How much COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave are employees allowed?
- Full-time workers and workers who were scheduled to work for the hiring entity an average of 40 or more hours per week in the two weeks before leave was taken: 80 hours.
- Part-time workers with a normal weekly schedule: The number of hours the worker is normally scheduled to work.
- Part-time workers with variable schedules: 14 times the average number of hours they worked each day over a six-month period (or for those workers who have worked fewer than six months, over the entire period of their employment).
What is the rate of pay for COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave?
- Regular rate of pay for last pay period
- State minimum wage
- Local minimum wage
Not to exceed $511 per day and $5,110 in total.
Which Day Type and Timesheet Item should be used for California Paid Sick Leave payment in the GreenSlate application?
The Day Type of “CA COVID SPSL” and Timesheet Item of “CA COVID SPSL” are to be used for payment of California Supplemental Paid Sick Leave under CA AB 1867.
Where can I find additional information about California COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave?
Last updated: 11.2.20. This information in this communication is general in nature, and is not intended, nor should it be construed, as legal, accounting, tax or other professional advice rendered by GreenSlate, LLC. The reader should contact his or her attorney, CPA, or tax professional prior to taking any action based upon this information.